Home > CHANGE:, CULTURE, DEFINITION, TECHNOLOGY > DEFINITION, TECHNOLOGY,CULTURE,CHANGE: “Notech”

DEFINITION, TECHNOLOGY,CULTURE,CHANGE: “Notech”

Notech:  referring to not using or carrying a smartphone, tablet or laptop on certain occasions.

21st. Century socializing is defined by the distant intimacy of digital technology.

Smartphones have replaced cellphones as tablets have replaced laptops as laptops replaced desktops.  This usage trend is accelerating at an ever faster pace and shows no signs of abating within the immediate future.

Interrupting verbal speech is verboten but scrolling through one’s iPhone is acceptable as there is always the chance that the person who isn’t there is more worthy than the person who is, y’know, there, here.

Perchance the face-to-face is a memorable one a selfie will memorialize the event.

Masturbatory though it may be the ubiquitous Chainsmokers hit “Take Another Selfie” disses AND celebrates Girls’ Room club culture with its duo of hair-tossing club habitues in self-photographed glory.

(Am I the only one who is reminded of Klymaxx’s 1986 hit “Meeting in the Ladies’ Room”?  Get back to me on this).

Notech is the reaction to our digital world.

Trends that are all encompassing inevitably breed reaction.

Notech was first heard by your blogger while tending bar about 6 months ago.

“I’m here for sex, NOT sexting.  I’m notech tonight.  I want a naked body not a picture of one”.

Amused though I was I was taken aback to hear the coinage used not 2 weeks later in “my” Starbucks.

“It’s notech for me.  Why would I want to see if the boss is sending me another email while I’m having a cappucino.”

Not a week later…

“No, I didn’t bring my laptop.  Notech is freedom.  The f(^%&#) laptop is like a ball and chain.  It’s the f#()^%#$&* freedom to have no freedom while I’m out of the country.”

It was this last incident that convinced me that this word now had an intense, although relatively infrequent, usage.

Notech is something of a reaction to “selfie”.  Notech values action more than reaction and freedom from technological ties.  Notech memory is something in the mind, not in a byte.

It is certain that the ever improving ability of technology to not just enhance and memorialize interaction but create it will be increasing exponentially for the foreseeable future.

Luddites will not be taking over although their distant cousins, the Steampunk enthusiasts, are increasingly public wheeling their fixed gear bicycles through Davis Square, Somerville.

Likewise Newbury Comics’ signage “1000s of Vinyl Records!”

Thesis-Antithesis-Synthesis

is the Dialectical materialism of Frederick Engel per Dialectics of Nature, 1883

Notech is Dialectical Materialism in the Digital Decade.

However, it does seem likely that relief from this most mixed of blessings will be sought.  Being of a certain generation I recall all too well the days of unlisted phone numbers…even for clubs.

Notech signifies a kind of analog dude ranch where the 20th. Century lives in eternal irony.

Notech will be a word heard only occasionally but spoken with very clear intent and action.

Notech will become a virtual and literal vacation from our cloud.

  1. Johne455
    April 28, 2014 at 11:43 pm

    Because here is a list of multiplayer games is ddbagfeeddac

    Like

    • May 13, 2014 at 11:55 pm

      Johne455, Thank you for your comment. Send me your email if you would like me to email my blogs on a regular basis. I have just started Twitter so I am a relative neophyte to the digital universe. stevegallanter@yahoo.com

      Like

  2. May 13, 2014 at 11:55 pm

    Hi Linda, Thank you for your comment. I will be posting shortly. Cheers, Steve

    Like

  1. April 18, 2014 at 6:15 am

Leave a Reply

